The Winston Churchill Memorial Trust

The Churchill Trust was established in April 1965. The principal object of the Trust is to perpetuate and honour the memory of Sir Winston Churchill by the award of travelling Fellowships known as Churchill Fellowships.

The aim of the Churchill Trust is to give opportunities by the provision of financial support, for Australians from all walks of life who, having exhausted opportunities within Australia, desire to further their search for excellence overseas. There are no prescribed qualifications, academic or otherwise, for the award of most Churchill Fellowships. Merit is the primary test, whether based on past achievements or demonstrated ability for future achievement in any walk of life. The potential for benefit to Australia is a significant factor. 

Churchill Fellowships have been awarded in just about every field imaginable. Some examples are:

  • Performing Arts  
  • Visual Arts
  • Crafts
  • Quilting
  • Restoration
  • Conservation
  • Agriculture
  • Law
  • Medicine
  • Education
  • Pastoral
  • Science
  • Policing
  • Sport
  • Architecture
  • Town Planning
  • Boat Building
  • Sailing
  • Wine Making
  • Horticulture
  • Museums
  • Harness and Saddle Making
  • Parks and Gardens