CFAV Celebrates Trust 50th Anniversary

1 Feb 2016

On 26 November 2015, the Victorian CFA celebrated the Trust’s 50th anniversary with a cocktail reception and the launch of a short documentary showcasing the diversity of Churchill Fellowships awarded to Victorians from a range of professions
 and eras.

The launch was held in the Red Rotunda, an elegant gallery featuring 19th century portraits of well-known Victorians at the State Library of Victoria.

The approximately 80 Fellows and invited guests were warmly welcomed by Ben Nicholson, 2008 Fellow and CFAV President. The Honourable Margaret White AO, National Chair, WCMT then graciously launched the documentary, followed by a rousing toast to the memory of Sir Winston Churchill by Paul Tys, WCMT CEO. 

The documentary commences with a brief history of the Trust by Paul Tys, followed by an introduction by the Governor of Victoria, Her Excellency the Honourable Linda Dessau AM, 1994 Fellow.

The documentary then features interviews of six Churchill Fellows, with roof slate expert Dean Cox (2005), art historian Joyce McGrath (1968), robotics expert and 2012 Young Australian of the Year, Marita Cheng (2011), scientist Amgad Raezk (2014) and playwright Lally Katz (2010) providing insights into the diversity and benefits of Churchill Fellowships to inspire potential applicants – a truly fitting contribution to the Trust’s 50th anniversary celebrations by the Victorian CFA.

The documentary can be viewed via the Victorian CFA's website homepage.


(L to R) WCMT CEO, Paul Tys, WCMT National Chair, Hon. Margaret White AO, CFAV President, Ben Nicholson

More news