National Roadshow of Information Sessions

22 Apr 2016

Third Roadshow Session 2016, Bayview Eden
Third Roadshow Session 2016, Bayview Eden


Following on from the positive comments by attendees across Australia at the inaugural 2015 National Roadshow of Information Sessions, the Churchill Trust rolled out a second series of Roadshow Information Sessions in the first half of 2016.

CFAV Committee members rolled up their sleeves, hoisted banners and presented to almost 500 prospective applicants on the benefits of Churchill Fellowships and key considerations for the application process. Due to popular demand, a total of three Roadshow Sessions were held in regional Victoria and Melbourne.

The first session was held in Bendigo on 26 February, with approximately 90 potential applicants attending. CFAV President, Ben Nicholson, 2008 Fellow and CFAV Treasurer, Shane Ringin, 2000 Fellow shared the podium and Q and A session with John Ginnivan and Stephan Walls, 2002 Fellows, who provided insights into the Fellowship application process and the continuing impact of knowledge and skills gained during their Fellowships.

The second information session was held at Melbourne University on 3 March with approximately 180 attendees. CFAV Committee Member, Martin Hardy, 2008 Fellow was the MC for the evening with Ben Nicholson presenting. They were then joined on stage for the Q and A session by CFAV Secretary, Andrew Nixon, 2007 Fellow and Committee Member, Dean Cox, 2005 Fellow.

As bookings for the second session quickly exceeded capacity, a third information session was arranged and held at Bayview Eden on 23 March with approximately 200 potential applicants attending. Churchill Trust CEO, Paul Tys gave the presentation, with Ben Nicholson as MC and Shane Ringin chairing the Q and A session.

The Roadshow format appears to be very popular in Victoria and it will be interesting to note the impact of these sessions on the quality and quantity of applications submitted during the next few years.

Churchill Fellowship applications closed on 15 May with successful applicants for 2016 to be announced on 30 November.

More news